runcheap

Just another WordPress.com site

Wish List Wednesday… Swimming and Slowing Soreness

This Wish List Wednesday will be a little different. The first part again will deal with running/fitness but the second part will take a different tact and and deal with wellness as opposed to nutrition. In a sense both items are things that will help my overall health, my overall fitness, and therein my overall running.

This weeks running/fitness week wish is….

I wish I lived near a large pool/swimmable body of water……

Set Up- A Great Alternative

If last weeks post dealt primarily with a low stress form of cross training in bike riding, this one deals with the other big low impact exercise for runners, swimming. I love to swim, although I am admittedly a terrible technical swimmer. Swimming is an exhausting, muscle taxing, fatiguing workout, but one that is low impact on the joints that get stressed while you run. To be able to swim just 1 day or maybe 2 days a week, would be a great way to do another endurance workout. It would also be a a great way to keep fit, rather than spinning or group fitness (which I love but do to much). Sadly, my community has a small pool and doing laps in it would be something of a joke. I also live surprisingly far away from swimmable water.

They always used to have public pool lap swimming at my community pool growing up. That doesnt exist in Florida

The Ideal Wish- Early Morning Laps

I would love to have a lengthy pool in my community that I could lap swim on off running days or as a follow up to a hard running workout. As much as I enjoy an early morning run in the darkness, I enjoy early morning swims as well. There is something refreshing to swimming hard laps in the morning and then getting ready for work or wherever you are going. I did it a couple of times when I was in a different situation and it was delightful. I wish I could have that again. I wish that at night to wrap up a hard day of working out, I could just jump in the pool and peel off a few laps. I wish that there was a nice pond/lake near where I live (animal free) that I could grab a swim in. I wish that I could use swimming for a happy, keep fit , low impact, alternative to boost my fitness and endurance so that when I pound the pavement the following day I am a step (or stroke better) than I was before.

Okay my community pool is bigger than this, but not by much ūüôā

The Reality- Nowhere to dive in

My community pool is a jole, doing laps in it, is a lot like the scene in Austin Powers where he attempts to get the golf cart out between two objects. He ends up going back and forth over tiny distances and looking ridiculous. This is my community pool. But I live in Florida right? There is water everywhere around you! Ugh, Yes and No. The closest beaches to me are an hour away. To get there early enough to swim them would require getting up at the monk like time of 3 or 4 am in the morning. I am pretty dedicated about my fitness, but not that dedicated. And lets add also, Im not that willing to spend a lot of gas money driving to the beach consistently. But Florida is full of lakes and ponds? Yes, and they are full of alligators. I have a personal alligator avoidance policy that has served me well. No swim is worth that risk. But you belong to a gym? It has no pool, none whatsoever. Some of the YMCA gyms have pools but membership there is not convenient, more expensive than my current ones, and the locations are not close to my house (again gas money). So any attempt to incorporate in a fun swim into my workout week is all for naught.

Yeah lake or pond swimming in Florida? Not so much

The Possible-  Summer and School

Once again I rely on my parents. My parents have a community pool which is 50m long. I dont know if thats Olympic length or anything, but it is close enough. Swim teams practice there. On certain days my mom does water aerobics there and there are usually free lanes to swim in. I hit it up a couple of times last summer, but inconsistently. I teach and my mom takes the class in the morning so it is really only available to me during those summer months I am off.  I will need to be more consistent this summer about getting it in 1 time a week. Also, if I end up going back to grad school. One of the universities I select will inevitably have an available pool that might have time for some lap swimming. At least thats what Im hoping. Swimming is just one of those activities that I will know will make me a stronger runner down the line.

Have to get my laps in during the summer

Now onto my first wellness wish..

I wish I could get a massage…

Set up- ¬†I do love the soreness but…

I am impossibly sore. I love it. I love post run healthy soreness. I love sore achy muscles after a good lift. I love the tired legs after a great spin workout. Some soreness is good for you, it lets you know that things are getting done in your body. Nothing wrong with that. But I would love to be able to take the time to relieve all that soreness and let it go with a nice long massage, so that I can feel fresh for maybe one day. To be able to get the tactile muscle soreness release and feel the comfort of your body just letting go of its exercise stiffness and soreness. I have never had a massage. I am always jealous of people getting the post endurance race massages. I am jealous of all the friends who I know who have had deep tissue massages and talked about them in the most spectacular terms. I would really like one but I cant afford one.

These must feel great after a long race

The Ideal- Only need one

Just one, only one full, deep tissue massage is really all I want. One time to relieve all that residual soreness, and all that huge stress that comes from  a complicated life. One time to know what it is like to feel the releif wash over you and to feel that physically relaxed emotion. Beyond that I would take what I could get the rest of my life. However, just that one time I would like that experience.

The Reality- $$$$$$$$$$$$$

Yeah right. A good massage, a really good soreness/stress relief one, is well beyond any cost I can afford. It really gets no more simple than that. Im sure I could find a crappy one or a half good one for cheaper, but what is the point? This is one of these all or nothing things to me. I want it done well or Im not paying anything. That wont be happening any time at all.

The Possible- Home remedy and appreciation

2 small options:

1) I have an issue of Runners World which teaches how to correctly and individually massage certain muscles used in running. I am thinking once or twice a month going strenuously through those might relieve some of that muscle stress and soreness. Most of the methods suggests used household items, making this low/no cost. It certainly isnt anywhere in the galaxy of what I am hoping for, but I probably should make the effort for health’s sake. Removing excessive soreness is a trait of a good runner to me. Right now, I eat foods that help with that, but I feel like tactile release would be more useful.

2)  Teacher Appreciation Week- TAW is a week where various local restaurants dump fatty unhealthy foods at you, useless gifit certifcates are pushed your way,  and administrators offer you halfway thoughtful gifts. Usually during this week, a local person comes in for quick 15 minute free massages. I missed mine last year because I was busy. If it is back this year, I wont miss it.

Doing some home, self massage is my best option

Enjoy Your Run. Enjoy Your Day :0

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

